# A Dropbox Sign alternative for agent workflows

Dropbox Sign is a mature API with text tags and field detection. docuinked is a new one built for agents, with an MCP server and server-side approval. Choose by whether agents are in your flow.

## Side by side

| | Dropbox Sign | docuinked |
|---|---|---|
| Plans | Essentials $15 a month. Standard $25 per user a month. Premium custom | Personal $9 a month or $99 a year, Team $15 a seat a month, first 5 free. Or $0.75 per completed document |
| API plans | Essentials from 50 requests a month, Standard and Premium from 100. Exact prices unclear from what we could read | Included |
| Test mode | Free. `test_mode=true`, watermarked, 10 requests a minute | Free. Test keys, 120 requests a minute |
| Field placement | Text tags, a detect-fields endpoint, form fields | Anchors, `{{signature:1}}` tags, coordinates |
| Embedded signing | Standard API tier and up | Your own server can create signing links. Agents can't |
| MCP server | None as of 2026-07-29, per a third party | Yes |
| Agent approval on the server | Not stated | Yes |
| Overage rates | Not stated | Not applicable |

The API plan table on Dropbox's page did not map cleanly to prices when we read it. Third parties list different numbers, so check with Dropbox.

## Where they're the better choice

- **You want proven field placement.** Text tags and field detection are well documented, and our field tools are newer.
- **You already pay for Dropbox.** Staying with one vendor is simpler.
- **No agent touches your flow.** If people or fixed code send your documents, our main difference doesn't matter to you.
- **You need a known name** for procurement. We are a new beta.

## Where docuinked is different

- **Agents are a first-class caller.** There is a hosted [MCP server](/docs/mcp), and every MCP caller is held to approval.
- **Test mode isn't throttled to 10 a minute,** so an agent eval can run at normal speed.
- **No seat math during the beta.**

## Sources

Checked 2026-11-07 unless noted.

- [Dropbox Sign pricing](https://sign.dropbox.com/products/dropbox-sign/pricing)
- [Dropbox Sign API pricing](https://sign.dropbox.com/products/dropbox-sign-api/pricing)
- [Dropbox help on API costs](https://help.dropbox.com/plans/how-much-does-the-dropbox-sign-api-cost)
- [Dropbox Sign developer overview](https://developers.hellosign.com/docs/overview.md)
- [Text tags walkthrough](https://developers.hellosign.com/docs/text-tags/walkthrough/)
- [Survey of e-signature MCP servers, Cipher Projects](https://www.cipherprojects.com/blog/posts/esignature-mcp-servers-ai-agents-2026/) (publisher sells a competing product, dated 2026-09-06)

docuinked is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dropbox. All names belong to their owners. Prices and features change, so check the vendor before you decide.

## Common questions

### Does docuinked accept Dropbox Sign text tags?

Not in that syntax. Our tags look like `{{signature:1}}`, so you would update your templates. Anchor text is the other option, and it needs no template change if your PDF has a label such as "Signature:".

### Is Dropbox Sign's test mode free too?

Yes. It is free, watermarked and limited to 10 requests a minute, according to its developer docs.

### Which is better for a plain web form to signature flow?

If no agent is involved, either works. Dropbox Sign has the longer record. docuinked is free for now and simple to call.
